Can you tell I really like burritos? This is my second post on them within 1 month?!

This was my dinner on Friday night, and I made it around nine thirty at night, because I was so full from the birthday cake we had at work.

Just to branch off a bit, the cake was the Hazelnut Praline Mud Cake from Le Petite Gateau. It was indeed very rich (not that I had a problem with that) and delicious (they always are!) However, the icing was maroon. Not sure what was going on there – perhaps the chef got a bit excited and went overboard with the red colouring?

Back to my burritos – I borrowed the idea from Old El Paso’s Crispy chicken seasoning for soft tacos. I wanted to make something like it, but wasn’t keen on using packet mix for the coating, so I made my own recipe. Cornflakes is really good for this, because you get the crispy coating without having to deep fry it. It was so much fun to brainstorm – just add whatever you fancy and crushing it in your hands. It’s good for stress relief. Coating the chicken was an interesting experience – I hadn’t done anything that made a mess of my hands for a long while. The last time I did this must have been in my food technology class in high school when I was making tuna patties. Ahhh..happy memories.

I started off being diligent (ie coating the chicken one by one first in the flour, then egg, then cornflake mixture), but towards the end, I wanted to speed things up, so I tipped several pieces of chicken into the flour, then all into the egg, then rolled them around in the cornflake bowl. What I discovered was, when they were still raw, the pieces coated individually looked neat, and the ones done in batches looked quite messy. However, once they were cooked, you can’t tell the difference between them. I’m not sure whether I was lucky and whether that is normal.

I also made a capsicum/tomato/rice mixture to fill the burrito. This name will have to do while I think of a better name to call it. It was something I picked up while I was in the US eating Chipotle. I was intrigued by the addition of rice, and discovered it’s not such a bad idea! My version is probably not conventional, but I can testify that it is tasty! Another tip I discovered was not to cover the pan when cooking the capsicum, because they will lose their vibrant green. There is also no need to add water to the pan.

Assembly is quite easy. All that’s left is to tuck in!

Crispy Chicken Burrito
Serves 4

4 Burritos (warm in microwave for 20 seconds)
Hotsauce
Sour cream

Optional:
Shredded Cheese
Avocado mixed with lime juice and cilantro
Lettuce

Crispy Chicken:

2 chicken thighs/ breasts
3 cups corn flakes
1 1/2 tsp paprika (I used smoked paprika for a more intense flavour)
1 tsp salt
A few shakes of pepper
1/2 cup plain flour
2 eggs, lightly beaten

1. Trim fat off chicken and cut into strips
2. Mix cornflakes, paprika, salt and pepper in a bowl and crush using hands. It should be well crushed but not powdery.
3. Place the flour on a plate, and egg in another plate.
4. Coat the chicken strips lightly in the flour, then transfer into the egg, then lastly into the cornflake mixture, pressing the cornflakes onto the chicken.
5. Heat a little oil in a frying pan over a medium heat. In batches, cook the chicken for 3-4 minutes each side or until golden. Transfer onto a plate and cover with tea towel to keep warm.

Capsicum, tomato rice filling:
1 medium sized capsicum (diced)
1 tomato (diced)
1 cup cooked rice
Salt and pepper

1. Fry capsicum and tomato in pan for 2 minutes.
2. Add rice and cook for an additional minute. Season to taste.

To assemble – there are no rules on how you should do this, but this is my version:
1. Place burrito on dish, layer with capsicum mixture and sprinkle with hotsauce.
2. Arrange chicken pieces on top and dollop with sour cream. Wrap up and enjoy!

